In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

There is a suggestion that youngsters who are preparing for their university should take a gap year to do some work or go someplace. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this phenomenon far outweigh the advantages in equal measure. The first drawback of this trend is that students who spend one year on other activities are wasting their valuable duration. This means that the time when they’re preparing for their university is the best time and the most suitable time for them to concentrate on their study, if they leaf their studies, even just a year, it would be hard to come back to their study. A further argument is that they would not graduate on time if they took a gap year, and leading to following their peers, who are the same age. Despite the negatives mentioned above, it seems to me that spending a year doing something else is a negative development. Firstly, these students could undergo some part- time jobs or visit some scenery places to enhance their social knowledge and open their minds. For example, if they applied for university instantly, they would not have an opportunity to connect with the outside environment, leading to a lack of social knowledge. Furthermore, some students who are from lower-income families have to effort to earn money in order to cover the tuition fee. In many university institutions, the high teaching quality and modern facilities always required high tuition, hence, to gain an education with better quality, they have to work before becoming the first year student. In conclusion, students should make a decision to decide whether to take a gap year or continue to apply for college activities that rely on their situation.