Nowadays in many countries chemicals are used to produce and preserve food. Do the advantages of this use outweigh the disadvantages?

It is certainly true that using chemicals to produce and preserve food brings back more benefits. While accepting that, I believe that the use of chemicals in making and storing food is more likely to have a harmful impact. On the one hand, there are serval benefits of applying chemicals to food. A common advantage is that the producer can manage the freshness and qualify at a lower cost which helps the company to save finance in the long term. Another positive aspect can be that the automatically producing possibility is higher than other methods. We just need to code to the machine the right amount of chemicals required for each species of planet. In fact, there is an experiment about this type of figure and it kinda succeeds. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the aforementioned advantages are at the expense of greater drawbacks. One obvious disadvantage is the safety of using chemicals. How they can control the right amount every time? How do citizens know that the brands are trustworthy without any safety of food organization? Another negative effect is the pollution that can happen because of applying chemicals to the food industry. If we keep adding chemicals to the soil for such a long term, it can be so toxic and polluted to organisms and the Earth. For solving that mistake, humans have to spend a lot of effort and money and time to recover the ground. In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential dangers of industrialization of food with substances are more harmful than the possible benefits