Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained in popularity (those teaching programmes that involve the use of written materials, videos, televised lessons and the Internet), but some people argue that courses can never be as good as those taken by attending a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, web-based technological advances allow people to study at home through distance-learning programs. I believe this method can not be as good as going to class in person, although some people might think there is no difference between online classes and traditional classes. It is reasonable to think that taking an online class can have the same impact on students as attending a college in person. Teachers can post significant files related to courses online, and students can easily download them. Moreover, as access to electronic textbooks is becoming more widespread, students can make notes on them just like on paper. From that point of view, distance-learning programs seem no different from traditional classes. However, in my opinion, attending lectures online cannot be as good as going to school in person. To begin with, online education does not allow for face-to-face conversations between students and teachers, which is extremely important in college education. Teachers cannot adjust their teaching speed and methods by judging students ' behaviour and facial expressions. Additionally, teachers may not be able to find out immediately if some students are not focusing on listening. Besides, students usually cannot get beneficial feedback if they are taking courses online. When courses are going on, there are definitely some students who have plenty of problems. But they will find that asking for help is more difficult compared to traditional classes. The efficiency of online communication is far lower than face-to-face conversation. Under those circumstances, students can hardly achieve great academic performance. In conclusion, though distance-learning programs are becoming increasingly popular, the courses cannot be as good as the traditional way.