Responsible tourists pay attention to preserving both the environment and culture of place they visit. Some people think it is impossible to be a responsible tourist. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Tourism is one of the most crucial factors in boosting the economy of a country or a state. Some people believe that apart from the merits of tourism it leads to littering of tourist places and has an adverse effect on the heritage of a place. In my opinion, it is important to be a responsible tourist and preserve the richness of the country one is visiting. To begin with, responsible tourism is nowadays in trend as literacy rates are improving everyone has an insight into cleanliness and is a responsible citizen. However, all the tourist places are well equipped with dustbins indicating proper waste segregation. For instance, the Golden Temple located in Amritsar is one of the most visited places in the whole world, the state government has installed proper bins for waste disposal to avoid littering of streets. Moreover, appropriate display for cleanliness reminders is also done on the streets. Furthermore, it is seen that earlier travellers used to ruin historical monuments by writing on walls. Nowadays the government has installed cameras m at different tourist places for surveillance and even fines are charged in case of any harm to the building. Along with this special policies such as banning one-time use plastics (straws, plastic water bottles, plastic bags etc) to reduce the hazardous effects of non-biodegradable plastic on the environment. In addition to this, recently a video surfaced on the internet in which visitors are seen initiating a cleanliness drive at tourist spots in Nepal. Hence, this displayed the sense of responsibility towards cleanliness and preservation of heritage among the travellers. To conclude, tourists have become more responsible and aware of the importance of preserving the culture of the place they are visiting. However, local governments are also playing a pivotal role in maintaining clean cities.