In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study aboard. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It seems that nowadays more and more high school levers are going overseas to continue their degree. Despite some challenges, such a choice is considered to be a better option than studying in their own country. This essay will describe the advantages and disadvantages of this trend, and why I think there are two sides to the coin. On the one hand, there are some benefits of attending universities overseas. For instance, certain universities have good reputations in terms of their programs and graduates. Therefore, this can attract students who seek quality. Furthermore, by going across the world, they can expose to different cultures, which expose them to not only diverse learning experiences but also cross-cultural communications. They can learn the customs of the locals and also other parts of the world. Apart from the reasons above, most importantly, they trained to be independent as well. They need to know how to live by themselves and know how to manage every situation. And all of these can shape their future and characters. Nonetheless, looking at the disadvantages, there are things that cannot be overlooked. For example, it can be quite expensive to study abroad. Not only do they have to pay rent and living costs, but some colleges charged extra for international students. They need to prepare for the cost of health insurance as well, which can add extra financial pressure. As such, they need to ensure that they have sufficient funds to cover everything. Another thing to consider is the language barrier. If their native language is different to the local one, they may have to study for it, which adds another cost to the list. Not only that, it can add extra effort to understand the study materials and lectures. Hence, they really need to consider every aspect of it before deciding on going to a foreign land. To conclude, continuing education away from their homeland can be considered to be superior to doing it back home. For example, providing excellent qualifications and multicultural experiences. Nevertheless, they can be costly and require extra effort in learning the language if needed.