Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals hold the opinion that in this contemporary era, people have a variety of options for everything, which is assumed to be more than enough. I also consider this statement as a true phenomenon, which can bring about negative consequences for both individuals and societies. In the modern world that we currently live, we have too many options for whatever we require. If you want to buy a regular thing such as a toothbrush, the mass market will offer you a variety of brands and prices. Although at first, it might seem beneficial for customers to have the chance to obtain their needs in various ways, it would lead to consumers’ confusion and dissatisfaction. People just find themselves confused about a wide range of options and would feel indecisive and frustrated. Moreover, even if they choose something, they will not feel satisfied, because they would assume that the other product that they refused to purchase, seemed to be better than what they finally bought. Additionally, this trend can lead to negative impacts on both society and the environment. This trend has begun in the mid-20th century and mass production, and from that time modern societies suffer from consumerism and the result of that, environmental catastrophes. The mass market encourages consumers to purchase various merchandise, and even create a sort of needing these products in their minds through well-rounded advertisement, thus the customers would demand too much and to supply this demand, manufacturers would exploit natural resources in unplanned ways, which is not always standard. For example, to meet the needs of developed countries’ citizens in terms of clothing in the mid-20th century, the manufacturers utilized natural resources massively, which led to the environmental issues that we have to struggle with now. In conclusion, I opine that giving a variety of choices to consumers is way rather than enough and resulted in many social and environmental issues at the present time.