Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Nowadays, whilst many individuals argue that the most significant environmental problem is losing particular species of plants and animals, others believe that some other problems are more important, and I agree with the latter opinion. On the one hand, the extinction of special types of plants and animals is a great concern. Firstly, the loss of these creatures will harm the food chain. In other words, other animals will either grow or decline in numbers. For example, once in European countries, it was thought that cats were evil, thus people started killing them, which led to the growth of mice around the continent, and this phenomenon resulted in one of the worst disasters in the 14th century, which was the spread of the plague. Secondly, the existence of trees and plants on the ground prevents floods, and losing these plants causes more damage to that place. When trees are planted in an area, they will absorb the water of rainfall and contain it within their roots. If these plants no longer exist, the water will flow into the ground, which results in a flood. On the other hand, other environmental difficulties are of more significance, like global warming and water pollution. The greenhouse effect causes climate change, and this will affect the lives of million people around the world directly. For instance, an area that has humid weather and receives sufficient rainfall on average is likely to become dry. This will ruin the vegetation and animals living there, and people will not have anything to eat. Additionally, water pollution accounts for many environmental troubles, like the extinction of fish and aquatic creatures. This will have a direct impact on millions of people worldwide living near seas, oceans, or rivers. Because one of the most important sources of their economy relies on that, like earning money by selling fish. I strongly believe that these issues are the major problems and need to be tackled. In conclusion, despite the notion of some people who think the disappearance of particular categories of plants and animals is the greatest concern, I am of the opinion that other phenomena like water pollution and the greenhouse effect are the top priority.