In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in many nations, the ageing population are increasing significantly. And some individuals mention that elderly people will create a lot of negative effects on their countries. However, some others think that there are more benefits in terms of developing countries. In my opinion, there are both merits and demerits, but it seems the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, when it comes to a large number of elderly people, the government have to spend a lot of budgets to take care of them. For example, the government needs to be under high pressure to support healthcare services, social welfare and so on. It leads to impacting the economy implicitly. In addition, it will affect the habitat such as air pollution, and lack of food potentially. For instance, the countries have to build a myriad of facilities that aim to support a billion people such as high-rise buildings, medical sectors, and food. As a result, it leads to happening traffic congestion, and lacking domestic resources and harms the environment significantly. On the other hand, it is undeniable that seniors, who have a lot of experience and knowledge, will share much advice with young generations and consult them in terms of career and a variety of skills. For example, youth who like to discover new things needs to rely on older people such as their dad to gain more skills, and knowledge in terms of education, or even getting marriage. Furthermore, some countries realize the importance of an ageing population in terms of economics and politics and give many major roles aim that will contribute to boosting their countries effectively. For example, in Vietnam, many enterprises have hired seniors who fully comprehend the operation of industries and aim to innovate the operation such as digital transformation. In conclusion, even though an ageing population will support many positive things for the government and a myriad of benefits for the young generation, the number of disadvantages seems to outweigh the number of advantages.