Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages.

Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages. People have different views about the trend of monitoring people’s behaviour with technical devices. While it brings several benefits. I believe that it harms personal privacy and security. The disadvantages of this development outweigh the advantages for sure. On the one hand, monitor devices can track people’s whereabouts and record information to check for criminals. For example, firstly, parents can track their children during the path of going back to home after school with smartphones tracking function. This help adults keep an eye on their child in order to prevent violence or kidnaps. Secondly, the navigation system in cars provides opportunities for search and rescue teams to locate victims of mountain accidents. Thirdly, police officers use security cameras to record and capture footages of public areas. The videos in it might become vital evidence once crimes are convicted. Monitor devices play an important role in maintaining personal and public security. On the other hand, most of the smartphones and security cameras send GPS data and footage through internet connections. Although they give the data and videos for us to protect ourselves, they exposed our personal information on the internet. If people’s cell phones and police stations are attacked by hackers, it may lead to serious security problems. However, there is a vast majority that is lack of personal data security awareness. They enjoy the convenience and are unaware of the hidden crisis. The government and the authorities should raise their security level, use the public’s data properly, and be responsible for establishing the public’s security awareness and promoting the correct concept of the use of the internet. Overall, the monitor device is a double-edged sword. They can help keep us safe, but they also might not protect our personal information well. It's important for the government and people to be careful with how they use these devices and to make sure our information stays safe.