Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment?

It is thought by many individuals that for reducing the crime rate it is better to have a determined law for all types of crimes. While there might be some potential benefits to doing this, my own view is that we would lose more than we gain. A multitude of potential advantages can be cited for having a certain punishment for all crimes, one of which could be that it can lead to a society with a lower crime rate. To be more precise, with people knowing the exact consequences of committing crimes, they would not allow themselves to perpetrate any kind of them, and hence, the crime rate would decline considerably. Not only that, but having a certain law for all crimes could also make the procedure of sentencing faster. In broad terms, if there were determined punishments, judges would quickly assert their conclusions; thus, no extra time would be spent on this process. The above arguments notwithstanding, I wholeheartedly believe that the negative results of this approach will be devastating. One evident negative point to doing this is that different conditions of different people would be neglected. In other words, sometimes, some people do not want to commit a crime, and situations make them do that, and therefore, it would be wrong to punish them without considering the whole situation. For instance, if the punishment for killing someone is hanging, it will not be fair to hang someone who killed one person unintentionally. Another reason that it would be wrong to overlook is that one of the main duties of law is to find the motives behind crimes. By adopting this approach, however, this option probably would be lost because the punishment is known, and there would be no reason for pinpointing the motivation. In conclusion, even though it might be contended that having a defined, fixed punishment might result in reducing crime, my firm conviction is that potential plus points pale in significance compared to the disadvantages.