More and more people no longer read newspapers or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, more and more people are surfing the Internet to obtain news, while gradually abandoning the conventional ways such as newspapers or TV programs. From my point of view, this development holds a lot of merits, and the following essay is going to solidify my argument. First and foremost, the Internet is an accessible source of information to learn about many aspects of ongoing events around the world. To put it in a simple way, once access the Internet, users can find various headlines and topics related to the information being looked up with ease. These topics can come from several trustworthy publishers all around the world, providing the readers with insightful views about many aspects of the event, and helping them to have unbiased views on the said topic. For example, when people find information about the Russia-Ukraine conflict, they can find stories about heroic Ukrainian soldiers, as well as tales about Russians who fight bravely on the front line. This could help the audiences have a deeper view of the conflict and avoid propaganda. Furthermore, gradually abandoning the traditional way of attaining the details about the events could result in the improvement of the ecosystem. This is due to the fact that newspapers and paper in general are made from wood, and humans are cutting down a huge amount of wood annually to publish magazines and newspapers. Thus, by choosing another means to get news, we can reduce the utilization of wood. For example, in the last decade, we had to provide magazines about deforestation, which has detrimental effects on the ecosystem. In conclusion, choosing online sources to attain news holds a lot of merits to our society, such as the multidimensional view it provides the audiences and the positive impact on the ecosystem. However, people should choose to read from verified sources to avoid false and fabricated articles.