Some people believe that countries should produce all the food necessary to feed their populations and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often considered that food which is necessary should be grown in the particular nation and little proportion of it can be brought from other countries. I completely agree with the above notion as it will help in reducing the prices in supermarkets and preventing diseases. To begin with, there will be a rapid decline in rates of crops if farmers start producing all kinds of vegetables and fruits within the kingdom. Although a myriad of countries is involved in importing and exporting markets to elevate the economy, average people are suffering from this behaviour. If all types of food are grown, there will be no extra taxes on importing goods and eatables would be available to the native population at reasonable prices. For example, India is a diverse country which hardly depends on foreign food, therefore, the prices of food are cheap. Further strengthening my views, if different foods are grown, it will prevent inhabitants from suffering any diseases. To remain healthy, humankind requires a proper portion of each nutrient. Moreover, food with all nutrients will be approachable to purchase in the local shops. For instance, native people of developed countries namely, America are suffering from hazardous diseases because they depend on other developing nations for all kinds of food as they are unable to do farming due to the weather conditions. Hence, a proper diet assists mankind in preventing various diseases. In conclusion, government can educate farmers to grow all types of crops rather than focusing just on two or three crops as it will assist in dropping the price in markets for food. Additionally, it will build a healthy nation.