Write about the following topic: It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Certain individuals believe that people should take risks in order to be successful in both personal and professional life. Although this suggestion is not without disadvantages, the upsides can justify these in my opinion. On the one hand, taking risks can have many potential drawbacks. Firstly, some risky decisions can affect significantly a large number of people, especially in big businesses. For example, many companies have gone bankrupt because of many highly risky decisions made by their leaders, resulting in higher levels of unemployment. Second, individuals who take risks and fail will be susceptible to various mental health problems, including anxiety, stress and depression. In fact, there were a few suicide cases caused by failures in making risky decisions. On the other hand, there are a number of advantages to taking risks. When workers are miserable in their jobs and they want to switch careers, taking risks can be beneficial in the long run. If their jobs are making them miserable and they change nothing in five years, for instance, they will be much more miserable and much older, which will even make it more difficult to change their lives. In addition, taking calculated risks can offer higher returns on investment, which has been a common formula for the success of high achievers at all times. In fact, when many businessmen are able to cover the failures associated with certain risky decisions, they become better at managing risks and often make their businesses more profitable. In short, the suggestion can have both potential drawbacks and benefits. From my perspective, taking risks should be encouraged if people know how to calculate risks in detail and find ways to cover the potential damage.