In many countries, financial crime involving identity theft is increasing. What are the causes of this trend, and what effect does identity thief have on the victims involved?

Nowadays, the rate of financial crime has increased rapidly due to the progress in technology and other factors associated with this matter, these crimes have a double effect on victims and society, and there are various causes of this trend. In this essay, I am going to elaborate on the roots of the effects with examples. To begin with, the potential reasons for this trend, firstly, in this modern era we live in, the financial crimes are so common all over the world because of the increasing number of gang members who developed and created smart ways to steal individuals' money such as online scams and data theft. For example, many receive calls on a daily basis from anonymous numbers claiming that they are bank employees and need the private username and passwords to update their personal information, therefore, the victims would easily believe them, and as a result of, this their money will be stolen from their bank accounts. If the financial crimes succeeded, the consequences will be demonstrated in society as well, for instance, the local economy will have a bad reputation and this will make global investors avoid investing in the country where financial crimes are spreading. Secondly, identity theft is a serious crime that has been underrated for a long time, in Developing Countries that suffer from the lack of modern technology, individuals are prone to be victims of such an atrocity, for example, In Egypt, the last governmental reports showed that many identification cards have been fabricated and used in escaping from criminal penalties such as murder and terrorism, additionally, these lawbreakers succeeded to flee from the country using these fake documents, thus the effects of such atrocities will not be only on victims but also on society because of the feeling of absence of justice. In conclusion, financial crime is a serious issue and it has become more dangerous over time because it includes identity theft which has severe equal consequences for individuals and society.