Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problem

It is argued by some that the extinction of certain species of plants and animals is the most serious environmental issue facing the entire world, while others disagree and believe that we are being faced with problems that are far worse than this. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and then I will give my own perspective, which is that climate change and rising sea levels cause more concern than the loss of some species. On the one hand, the disappearance of certain types of fauna and flora might threaten global food supplies. If important pollinators such as bees, butterflies, and moths were to become extinct, it would wreak havoc on crops across the globe, putting millions at risk of famine and hunger. In addition, some plants and animals might be key in the fight against the attack of potentially fatal viruses like covid. There might be compounds in some rare species of flowers or wild animals, not yet known by science, that could be the answer to a future pandemic. For these reasons, it is understandable why some people consider the loss of some plant and animal species as the most worrying problem. On the other hand, I side with those who hold the belief that the world is encountering more pressing issues. First, climate change is a real threat that is having devastating consequences for all life on earth. It is driving plants and animals to extinction faster than new species can evolve and posing a serious threat to food security and the health of millions of people around the world. Another problem that needs our immediate attention is rising sea levels as a result of increasing global temperatures. If sea levels continue to rise at the current rate, a great number of coastal cities might be left underwater. Given the severity of such issues, they should top the list of environmental challenges that need to be dealt with immediately. In conclusion, although some people say that today’s most important environmental problem is the loss of certain kinds of plants and animals, I am of the opinion that dealing with the climate crisis and rising seas should be our top priority.