People often do not interact with their neighbours and this is harming community building. What are the possible causes and solutions? ‌

Neighbourhood culture has been mitigated from people's lives nowadays. It is thought to be harmful to community building. Some reasons for the aforementioned problem are discussed further along with its solutions. To begin with, in today's era, people are preferring nuclear and conserved families.In metro cities, people do not even know their neighbours and it is probably because individuals do not like to involve in other's life. Moreover, the crime rate has drastically increased these days, which is why people barely trust each other. To add on, spare time is also an issue to deal with as every person is so much involved due to a hectic work schedule. To exemplify, a woman in Bandra, Mumbai was found dead in her apartment and nobody knew it until her neighbours noticed an unavoidable smell. Some small steps can improve the interaction between neighbouring families such as meeting from time to time and organizing small get-togethers on holidays. Furthermore, celebrate functions as well as festivals together. Besides this, going out for a walk or getting involved in some fun activities in their leisure time can be helpful as it will help them to build strong relationships. For instance, The Navratri function is celebrated in the city community centre every year in Ahmedabad. To sum up, although busy work schedules and trust issues due to inclined crime rates prevent a majority of common masses to get along with each other, celebrating festivals and enjoying free time together can resolve this issue. Not only will these small steps help a person to grow individually in life but also advantageous in building a community which is based on love.