IELTS essay, topic: Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In order to visit different museums around the world people have to pay a certain amount of fee; whereas, in some museums, entry is free of cost. In my opinion, charging some sort of money in order to visit a museum has more benefits than drawbacks which I will discuss in this essay. The first and foremost positive of paying a fee for visiting a museum is that the money which is accumulated from visitors can be ploughed back into the maintenance of these museums or art galleries. Museums are known for the preservation of distinct artefacts and relics that have historical importance, and maintaining them from time to time is crucial to providing the best experience to tourists. Also, most museums have a minimal amount of fee to be paid which is usually affordable, for example, an entry ticket for the Melbourne Museum is only 15 dollars. Moreover, the earnings from museums in the form of a nominal fee help to boost a country's economy, and can also be utilised to pay the salaries of the staff working there. On the contrary, there are some drawbacks to charging entry tickets by museums as well. Firstly, museums with high ticket prices sometimes fail to attract more visitors; however, museums that do not charge anything lure more people, for example, entry to Brisbane Museum in Australia is free, and this way, this museum attracts thousands of visitors every year. In conclusion, although some museums attract more people as they have no entry fee, I am still convinced that museums should charge a nominal amount of money from visitors as the advantages like economic benefits, and maintenance are more than their drawbacks.