In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The question of whether cities shall be separated into specific functions has sparked heated debate. Proponents claim that the method can improve road design and living quality. While opponents argue that it is less convenient for citizens to do any activity. In the essay, I will elucidate both standpoints in more detail and give my personal opinions regarding their pros and cons. To begin with, those who disapprove of the arrangement usually emphasize that it takes considerable time to drive downtown if there are no shops or clinics around. For example, it is extremely inconvenient when it comes to car accidents and no public hospitals nearby which possibly lead to rescue delays or fatal consequences. Therefore, the viewpoint offers valid ground. On the other hand, supporters address that the design is beneficial to route planning and provides a peaceful environment to inhabit. First of all, the paths in urban areas can be structured as needed. Obviously, living areas can have narrow roads without parking issues, whereas business sectors shall have wider ones and parking towers included. From another perspective, it also provides a safer location for children since it will not have many cars near the household. Additionally, a quiet living quality is further secured by urban planning. As a consequence, many major places are constructed as the topic mentioned. In conclusion, both statements have strong grounds. However, worries from objectors can be resolved. Meaning that the government can build necessary facilities in rural areas that are sufficient. Meanwhile, the federal body can continue to do urban planning. Therefore, I tend to believe that the positive effects outweigh the negativities.