Childhood obesity is becoming a problem throughout the developed world. Because of this, some people think that adverts for fast food, sweets and sugary snacks should not be allowed in schools and colleges. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Nowadays, childhood obesity has sparked a heated debate and drawn public attention around the world. Some people are hardly convinced that advertisements for unhealthy food like fast food and sweets snacks should be avoided in educational institutions like schools and colleges. After considering deeply all the relevant factors, I decided that I agree with this statement. In the following essay, I will explain why. First and foremost, when viewed from a psychological perspective, it is evident that advertisement influences people in general. Moreover, it has a stronger power on young people. As a matter of fact, children learn really fast because they are developing their brains. For this reason, any kind of stimulation is crucial for their learning. For instance, a prominent scientist once stated that children learn 10 times faster than adults. It thus clearly shows us that bad advertisement is really inappropriate for them. Additionally, another social factor that should also be taken into account is that educational institutions are normally related to good learning, while this kind of advertisement is undoubtedly negative. As far as society is concerned, the ultimate aim of the school is to teach in a proper manner. Nevertheless, by allowing fast food advertising inside their spaces, schools are not respecting their goal. For instance, according to an article in the Economist, schools are the place where children are mostly influenced during their entire childhood. This is a clear indication that they have to be protected from these negative influences. In conclusion, due to the reasons outlined above, I have a strong belief that the advertisement for unhealthy food inside schools has to be suspended and forbidden in the future. In order to do it, institutions like the public administration have to consider the creation of written laws inside the constitution that stop this inappropriate tendency.