The percentage of overweight children in the western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effect of this disturbing trend.

The rate of children who are suffering from obesity has surged by 20% in the last decade in Western countries. In this essay, I will express some reasons, for example, the advertising industry, staying at home and seducing children with colourful and accessible food. Also, I will bring up some side effects of this trend and its effectiveness on their life. To begin with, the paramount reason is children's tendency to stay at home and play with their devices such as laptops, computers, and tablets. This makes them lazy without any movement and walking or jogging to burn out calories. In addition, due to the availability of online gaming, most kids can easily play with their peers at home and there is nothing outdoors to encourage them for doing exercise. Secondly, advancement in technology has paved a pathway for exposure to advertisements and they are facing approximately more than three times a day via social media take the example of Instagram and YouTube with a variety of colourful and eye-catching food and seduced them to purchase. Thirdly, as regarded most of the consumed foods are easy-achieving and exist in supermarkets consumers can prepare them easier than in the past. Furthermore, parents tend to feed kids with ready-made meals owing to hard work. The effect of this disturbing trend has emerged in health-related issues. Take the example of some diseases such as blood pressure and heart defects. Moreover, the most common illness when children indulge in sugary food is diabetes which leads them to be under pressure of injecting insulin for the rest of their life. Besides, obese people have low self-esteem and tend to flee from society which makes them depressed and introverts. To conclude, the drawbacks of processed and sugary cuisine are inevitable and they are a harmful aspect of indulging in eating them because of the tendency of individuals to prepare them by engaging in social media or playing games with the lack of movements.