47.In many cities there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernize, old buildings are demolished and replaces with new buildings. What are the disadvantages of knocking down old building? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that many cities do not have extra space to continue development, and in order to take the next step, old buildings have to be reconstructed and replaced. From my perspective, this action accompanies pollution and the loss of a part of the culture, but I certainly believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. One of the disadvantages is the materials of the original building will create tons of pollutants, such as cement, steel, and bricks. It is impossible to either recycle or process them in an eco-friendly way. For example, the most common way of dealing with these materials is handled by the factory, however, the factory process will create destructive air pollution and water pollution as well. Moreover, another negative impact is some domestic cultures are adjacent to the old buildings, which will take away those historical memories as with the architecture. Perhaps, each building was built at a different age with different purposes, we can observe an old flat to estimate the lifestyle before. For instance, the flats in New Taipei City, Taiwan have been categorized as a part of the culture, people will not be able to understand their ancestors’ living style if the buildings were knocked down. However, it is a fact that development creates a better life for a human, and modernized architectures create a more functional and ecological environment. Although the old buildings ’ destruction will create tons of waste and loss of a part of the culture, the further benefit can prove these actions are worthwhile. Subsequently, if modernized architectures associate with technology, humans have a more convenient lifestyle, besides, the new buildings could use ecological materials to ensure that architecture will not damage the environment. This is more advantageous because the traditional lifestyle could be improved, and also, prevent the fact that original constructions are unconsciously polluting the environment. In conclusion, finally, even though demolishing old buildings accompany negative impacts, the advantages certainly outweigh the disadvantages. Consequently, by modernizing, society will enhance both human life and the environment.