In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development

Domestic immigration can be a controversial topic. Nowadays, many suburban people are moving to cities, which results in a considerable drop in the population of the countryside. I wholeheartedly believe that it is a negative shift. There are many advantages for a country to have a significant number of people living in suburbs. Firstly, local people are the only ones who can preserve an area’s cultural heritage. To explain more, if local residents move to a city, they will have to blend in with the urban culture, and all their local culture and traditions will fade away over time. Another merit could be related to the environmental effects of their immigration. While most jobs in cities are related to industry, the majority of rural people are occupied with farming activities, which are more environmentally-friendly. If they decide to immigrate to cities, it might lead to a shortage of green areas and an increase in greenhouse gas emissions. In addition, the capacity of a city is limited. In the case of overpopulation, there are many potential problems that we should be aware of. The most important issue that comes to mind is the rise in the price of accommodation. When the number of people who need a flat to live in improves, the cost of accommodation will, undoubtedly, improve as well. Another drawback of this phenomenon could be a high rate of unemployment. The number of job vacancies is limited, and they might not be enough for all just-immigrated residents. Therefore, many families will experience poverty, and it might even lead to a crime wave. In conclusion, many people who used to live in suburbs are now moving to cities. I firmly believe that it is an unfavourable change for a country to go through, because it will lead to many economic problems, as well as environmental problems and social concerns.