Nowadays, economic development improves the standard of living in many countries, but some social values are lost. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Apparently, financial growth among numerous nations can raise the living standard of people but it also causes the loss of some social values. Although this development has many advantages in terms of a luxurious life, good education plans and safety, the disadvantages like selfishness and imprudent money-mindedness can never overshadow the pros. To begin with, a luxurious life can be the primary benefit of economic expansion. The larger the money people have in their pockets, the higher the status in society can be achieved along with facilities like cars and electronic gadgets. For example, research conducted by The Guardian Newspaper in March 2015 stated that 1.2 million people started living affluent lives and crossed the poverty line in the UK when the nation expanded the industrial sector. In addition, not only can it assure a chance of choosing advanced educational methods for their children to provide certainty to their bright futures but it can also ensure the safety of their families by purchasing CCTV cameras and good medical treatments. Hence, the expansion is indeed beneficial. In spite of these pros, this trend has some negative impacts, particularly on some social values which can never be undermined. Foremost, people can become self-centred with the rise in their standard of living. If everybody is busy with their work and has no time to listen to the sorrow of others, such a society will soon be full of introverted people. For instance, the World Health Organisation published in the annual report of March 2022 that 7 out of 10 professionals from the newly expanded industrial sector felt a sense of selfishness after their joining, which turned them into emotionally dead ones. Besides becoming emotionless, their excessive interest in monetary gains is decreasing the quality of their social and family bonds. Even though they look rich outside, they lose their value in their family and the community as they seldom appear at special events. Thus, these can be adverse impacts of this phenomenon. To conclude, undoubtedly an upward slope is observed in the living status of people with economic progress whereas a disappearance of a few social values can also be seen. Nonetheless, the advantages of this economic development can outweigh the disadvantages.