More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people suggest that the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A great number of foods available for consumption are highly unhealthy. The majority of people believed that more and more people are becoming overweight, thus they advised that the solution to this dilemma is to increase the cost of fattening foods. In this, essay I will explain in detail, why increasing the price is not the best solution. Firstly, we need to identify and consider the reasons why a person is obese. It might not only be due to overeating but may be due, to other factors. For instance emotional, genetics, health conditions etc. What can be a good solution to this. The community may create groups to do a morning exercise. Like, what we have in our neighbourhood we have a free Zumba class that is open for everyone. Advertisements for how to be healthy can also be promoted so that people will have more information about the pros and cons of being obese. Furthermore, creating outside gym courses in the neighbourhood may help to encourage people to exercise more. Those, who have health issues like hypothyroidism, which can result in to decreased level of metabolism, can be advised to visit a doctor for a check-up. On the other hand, being obese for some people is due to laziness. They are already content with how they are. So increasing the price might not be that effective. To conclude, I believe that being healthy is an individual's choice and what the community or the government can do is to promote and spread awareness of healthy living, although the final decision is within the hands of an individual. We can only encourage, but not decide for them.