In recent years, online education is becoming more and more popular. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon? Use specific details and examples to explain your opinion.

Due to the COVID-19 outbreak in 2019, studying online become preferable to conventional one. In fact, it is clear that this shift could bring benefits to people who have limited access to formal learning. Although the supremacy of this transformation is undeniable, this essay argues that the demerits also have to be considered. To begin with, the foremost advantage is flexibility. Encouragement by massive restrictions in many sectors including school activities during the pandemic has led people to adapt by studying through online platforms anytime and anywhere. In addition, the situation also gives every person the same opportunity to get a proper education. For instance, according to our statistics bureau's data, the number of Indonesian people who get access to formal education is jumped by 20% from 2019 to 2021. On the other hand, this phenomenon also brings demerits, especially for our social relationships which become less frequent than before. Furthermore, some of us tend to become awkward when meeting others in person due to the lack of exposure to physical engagement. To illustrate, there is a significant difference when we communicate through online chatting which don't need to maintain intonation and gesture of our body. However, in direct conversation, those aspects play an integral role in conveying our message. To conclude, despite the drawbacks brought by the popularity of online schooling that leads people to have a hard time when talking in person, I believe that the flexibility of virtual education still becomes the winning solution to broaden our education services.