Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view point?

It is argued that government expenditures should go on something more beneficial than arts. This essay disagrees with the statement because they have to preserve art and by doing this they will gain much more money. Protecting art should not be seen as a poor investment by the government in charge. This is due to the fact that arts represent the history of a certain country and its national legacies. These are elements that we cannot forget to protect due to the fact that if we do not do that, every building, statue or painting is going to be destroyed or damaged. For example, historic buildings, such as the Colosseum or the Pantheon located in Rome, would not be here nowadays without the spending from the government to maintain them. On the other hand, by doing this governments will gain more money than the one they have spent. Since all the arts will be taken care of, people from all around the world may decide to visit a specific country to view its art. This is going to make the economy circulate, not only because tourists will go to specific museums or sites, but mainly because they will pay for other things, such as restaurants, public transport or hotels, significantly improving the wealth of the country. Take, for instance, cities like Rome that are famous for their art, without it, nobody would visit them and it would gain nothing, whereas with it Rome is one of the most visited cities and as a consequence, the country gains a lot of capital. In conclusion, I don't think that it is a waste of capital to invest in art, because this is going to prevent art damage and the government will as well gain more money than the one it spent.