In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With the increased use of computers, the internet, and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

As the proverb goes: “Every coin has its two sides” and working from home is no exception. Thanks to the development of technology, the number of people working from home increased rapidly in recent years. Consequently, the benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon will be stated as follows. On this side of the coin, it is undeniable that working remotely possibly promotes the quality of our lives. To graphically illustrate, our mental well-being would be enhanced significantly because of several reasons. The first benefit is we should be able to spend less time travelling to workplaces. In other words, we will have more leisure time which can be consumed for our loved ones. In addition, without the compulsoriness of going to work via means of transport, we should be capable of avoiding irritating noises on our way to work which is beneficial to our health condition. On the other side of the coin, there is no denying that home-based working is inconvenient in some specific situations. For instance, if a given assignment requires to be accomplished immediately, working directly with our colleagues will be more effective than doing so by dint of online platforms. In other words, in this circumstance, working from home would consume more time than working face-to-face since we will be able to cooperate with our associates directly. In conclusion, remote working is a trend that possesses both advantages and disadvantages. Yet, I hold my notion that its profits would outweigh the downsides. Notwithstanding, this is still a debatable issue that requires wary consideration as well as discussion.