Some argue that patriotism is the primary cause of wars globally. Others feel that it serves to prevent less ethical politicians from running a country and starting wars. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Currently, wars have occurred between many countries. Although some claim that patriotism is one of the main factors that causes war, I believe that patriotism can protect the country from politicians who lack the morals to drive the country and seek wars. The wrong concept of patriotism could lead the wars. For instance, in some countries, people start wars because they seek the resources that are necessary for their lives such as food, water, textiles and other important minerals. They need to fight with others otherwise other people in their country will die due to insufficient resources. Moreover, some individuals enter to battle with other people of different nationalities in order to win and become the greatest country in the world. Some people believe that if their country becomes the greatest nation, they will have power over others and be able to bring prosperity to their state. On the other hand, I firmly believe that the true concept of patriotism will benefit the country in several ways. The good citizens who love their country will monitor their government and politicians to ensure that they act ethically in order to develop their country. Furthermore, if everyone, including politicians and the leader of that country, are well-intentioned to the country, they will drive their country in a better way and not engage in war which can significantly cause damage to the country. In conclusion, it can be considered that the incorrect idea of patriotism will lead to wars. However, I strongly believe that the true concept of patriotism will drive and develop the country more effectively and will definitely not lead to wars.