Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small. local business are unable to compete. some people think that the closure of local business will bring death of the local communities. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Development and sudden extension of supermarkets makes it impossible for local businesses to compete with them. Moreover, a group of individuals consider that local businesses ' closure will have a bad impact on local communities. This essay completely disagrees that the expansion of supermarkets will kill smaller communities, owing to the advantages that this trend brings, such as a higher employment rate and its facilities. To begin, some people may think negatively about the quantity of bigger markets, but if to think deeply about the pros, it will be clear that they may be wrong. First of all, supermarkets need a big amount of employees and that is good for local communities, as they usually struggle to find a suitable and highly-paid job, which leads them to look for positions in bigger cities. As a result, the problem of unemployment gets tackled. The latest interview of dwellers of Salisbury by CBC UK shows that 68.5% of local people had difficulties with finding a job before bigger companies opened their branches there. The second advantage brought by the expansion of supermarkets is comfort. In this context comfort may be understood differently, it includes better price-to-quality ratio, bigger choice of goods, sales and so on. It is obvious that local businesses cannot provide people with this opportunity. Furthermore, local businesses sell goods at the price which is higher than the price offered in bigger shops. A recent interview by CNN demonstrates that 120 of 150 people prefer to shop in supermarkets rather than local businesses, due to the comfort and opportunities provided. To conclude, although many people think that the closure of local businesses and the opening of supermarkets instead will affect local communities negatively, this essay definitely disagrees with that idea, as bigger shops provide better facilities and solve the unemployment problem.