Some people think that poverty is the reason for most of crimes. do you agree or disagree?

In today's era, poverty has become a main concern for most countries. Some people think that poverty is the cause of most crimes. while others disagree with this statement. As far as I am concerned, I totally agree with this statement. In this essay, I will explain why I agree with this and will provide examples to support my position. Firstly, Unemployment will lead to poverty and then it will come to crimes. This is because, when a country has a problem their young generation does not have jobs and work to do. That age group of people have more energy and ability to earn money than other age groups. When they do not earn money due to the unemployment problem in their country then they choose the wrong path to get money. For example, a recent survey conducted in Dehli jail showed that most youngsters are kept in prison and all of them accepted that they did crime because they did not have any other option to earn money and were unemployed after their graduation. Additionally, most crimes are committed by people who do not have proper education. This means, that people who stand below the poverty line always remain abandoned from a proper education. Lack of education in people is also a main cause of the increasing number of crimes. To instantiate, a report by 'The Times of India' showed that 98% of people who committed crimes of rape were illiterate and this happened because they did not go to school and learnt moral values and how to respect others. On the other hand, some argue that there are other reasons for increasing the number of crimes because some well-settled people are also in prison for their crimes. In reality, those people committed crimes due to their mindset,not any social condition forced them to do it. In conclusion, while it is true that there is not a single reason for increasing the crime rate, poverty is playing the main role in today's crime rate. Therefore, I totally agree that a lower number of below- poverty people in any country will have a lower crime rate.