Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The issue of whether or not capital punishment should be applied to reduce the crime rate and increase the safety of a nation has grown in importance over the past few decades. The death penalty cannot act as a deterrent since there are more reasons why people turn to crime among those people should be discouraged from committing crime by other measures. To begin with, as a result of economic recession and high cost of living people have encountered numerous serious problems, in that, there are many forces to push them to commit a crime like insufficient income. For example, people who live in the suburbs or deprived areas are more likely to turn to crime. Therefore, some investigations should be taken to control the crime rate by solving economic issues. Moreover, children who work at an early age are deprived of studying and are more susceptible to crime. Thus, the level of education and also educational system of a country are of paramount importance. For instance, educated societies have minimum crime rates. On the other hand, the people who commit a crime should be aware of the consequences of their work. Consequently, they should be arrested and should be brought to trial to be sentenced for their crime. However, capital punishment can encourage violence and aggressive behaviour and other measures should be taken. For instance, governments should impose hefty fines on crimes or they can keep the criminal in custody for several years to be severely punished. Such force will let a criminal think twice before taking any aggressive action. Ignoring any punishments will lead to a dangerous society and people will lose the feeling of safety. In conclusion, capital punishment cannot reduce the crime rate in society because people face many other problems on a regular basis and something should be done to address those problems. In addition, governments should raise public awareness about committing a crime and other punishments can be carried out and governments should enforce strict laws to control the violence in a country.