In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In some nations, the majority of adults prefer to live separately compared to the past. In this essay, I will discuss the positive and negative impacts of this choice. Living alone helps individuals to progress financially and psychologically. When people decide to separate from their families, they have to be responsible for their expenses. Consequently, they should manage their income wisely, if they want to cover their utilities. More important than the economic aspect, living alone will influence the psychological aspect. People become more confident in their life and they tend to take their future more seriously compared to the time they lived with their parents. For example, I became an organized and independent person after I moved out from my parents' house, since I had to write my costs to check if my income met my daily utilities and my future apartment. Although, living separately has positive impacts, it affects social communication. Children rarely visit their families, since they are busy with their own life. As a result, social distance between members of families become widespread and two generations do not understand each other any more. For example, I have read a book about the negative feature of American culture, which is living alone after turning 18. The book said that parents and children have serious conflicts since they talk to each other less than in the past. In conclusion, although living alone causes generations to split into two different communities, it advances the financial ability of individuals and makes people more confident about themselves.