In some countries more and more international travel is becoming cheaper and more countries are opening their doors to increase the number of tourists. Do the advantages of increasing tourism outweigh the disadvantage

There is no denying the fact that the phenomenon of tourism is important all over the globe. One school of thought opine that this process has a number of benefits, however couple of problems also occur because of the same. Although this has a plethora of merits numerous demerits are also there which will be elaborated in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with the benefits, economic progress is the most prominent factor to be considered when discussing travel because tourists spend a hefty of wealth while visiting foreign nations which results in an increment in the gross income of a country. Moreover, capital earned from travellers is spent on the renovation and development of historical buildings and monuments. In addition, cultural exchange is another merit as thousands of people from distinct cultural backgrounds visit various places and meet native people which makes them able to learn about different religious backgrounds. For instance, in India, a number of tourists per day pay obeisance at the Golden temple and eat Langar (Langar is a Punjabi word which means individuals can sit together despite of their religion and can eat free food)and they learn about the culture of residents of that place. Hence, there are a number of merits of international travel. Moving toward the drawbacks, the destruction of goods is a negative factor of this process because when various human- beings visit a particular place every day then some nuisance is predictable. Many sites like, beaches and historical buildings are damaged by visitors by throwing plastic in water bodies and,by writing on the walls of the monuments. To illustrate, there was an incident in India last year when some foreign individuals ruined the walls of Red Fort in Delhi by drawing with paint. Hence, they were charged with the public property damage act. Therefore, property damage is a major threat caused by the travel industry. In conclusion, no doubt there a some disadvantages but the benefits of tourism outweigh the negatives. In order to get rid of demerits, the government should make some strict rules regarding the deterioration of the local goods.