Some people say that the bast way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Other, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

An opinion has been raised by some individuals about adding more sports facilities as the best way to enhance the health of the public; however, there are others who reject this notion. They claim that these measures would only have a little impact towards people who seek a healthier lifestyle and that there are other ways they could do that without having to invest in sports centres. I agree with the latter and in this essay, I shall explain why with a couple of examples to support the causes. To begin with, sports facilities are just an aid when people need to bulk up without having to purchase expensive gym equipment. It is intended for individuals who prefer to use this equipment and do heavy lifting, for example. In addition, it is a place for people who gain motivation to get that target weight and muscle mass that they could not achieve without any help from these gym equipment. Furthermore, it is for individuals who like being trained by a personal trainer because some people would rather have someone force them into doing exercise. It may increase public health in terms of physical improvement at some point, but not everyone is keen on going to the gym for those purposes. On the other hand, going to the gym is expensive, and people who cannot afford that monthly or annual membership fee, would prefer to find an alternative that is cheaper and easier to deal with. Jogging, for instance, is a form of cardio exercise that could be done just by running around the neighbourhood. Easy and affordable, and there is a high chance you could socialize with other people since you are exercising in the same area. Yoga, a form of meditation, is another great example. People could do that in public parks along with their family and friends and still enjoy the activity. It is like hitting two birds with one stone: less expense and they could achieve a healthier body and mind. In conclusion, there are a number of ways to improve health other than the use of sports centres. It is not entirely necessary since parks and neighbourhoods can be used as an alternative for exercise.