Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative trend?

The overuse of smart devices by children is a complex debate. In the last decade, more and more children have become addicted to these gadgets due to the ubiquity of the internet and the lenient reactions of parents. In my opinion, This will have detrimental consequences for the beloved children in the future. These days, some children are spending more than usual on their devices such as smartphones. This comes from the fact that the internet has indubitably become ubiquitous, and gadgets such as mobile phones, tablets, and laptops have become easier to purchase. According to research by the Department of Statistics of Iran, children between 8 to 18 are using smartphones more than average, therefore, it has been shown in this article that excessive dependence on smartphones is negatively affecting the growth of the younger generation's brains. Additionally, parents and caregivers are becoming more lenient and flexible than latter decade and letting their children act more freely. This way of nurturing has increased the child's freedom, which results in more indisciplined children who overutilize their smart devices without any response from their parents. This harmful developing trend is increasing which I believe must be stopped because of its further effects. I would argue that if we care about our children and future generations, we have to foster a sense in them to be convinced about the harmful effects of overusing smartphones. However, the role of parents, schools, and government must be considered. What I mean is, With the help of advertising by the state and putting financial resources into developing some educational cartoons, they can help the child gain the needed knowledge to stop using devices. Moreover, parents can set usage patterns for their children and schools should implement restrictions on the utilization of personal devices in the educational environments. This would stop the brain damage and other mental problems that children can suffer from this wrong trend. To conclude, the over usage hour of smart devices by children is a matter of concern which has some reasons such as the ubiquity of the internet, easy access to devices, and lenient parents. In my point of view, this is a detrimental trend which needs to be stopped and managed by parents, schools, and government.