In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message.

It is often argued that encouraging kids they are capable of doing everything as long as they work hard would have a positive influence. In this essay, the advantages and disadvantages will be discussed, and I will conclude by stating whether the benefits and drawbacks are of greater importance. In terms of the positive aspects, some people believe that this message can cultivate a sense of perseverance and a hardworking attitude that children need. As the saying goes, "There ain't no such thing as a free lunch." Giving kids incentives, which is the fact that they can accomplish anything by being indefatigable, can motivate them to try their best when confronting challenges in the future and avoid slacking off when working and studying. In terms of the downside of stating that trying hard equals success, some suggest that those who believe this principle and fail could become frustrated and depressed. Kids, who are still pretty young and naive, may not encounter significant dilemmas in their daily lives. However, as they grow up, they will eventually find out the world is unfair. For instance, your generosity toward classmates does not mean they will all become heartfelt friends. Moreover, spending extra hours to study math is not an entry ticket to medical school. Although encouragement is essential in building children's confidence, lecturing about the harsh reality they might encounter before they step into society is equally vital. In conclusion, although there are strong arguments both against and in favour of the aforementioned message, I believe that letting the kids know how the world "actually" works and giving practical advice to assist them in overcoming future problems is one of the best methods of education.