In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Traffic congestion has always been a challenging dlenma of the modern world these days. Therefore, there is an opinion that the government should enact a law requiring people who own cars to pay a high tax so that money can be used to enhance public facilities. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of this method. One of the first benefits of such a measure is that fewer vehicles will appear on the road, as it is expensive for drivers to use cars. Hence, there is a small amount of emission emitted into the environment, leading to an improvement in air quality. Another point in favor of this practice is that the standard of public transportation can be increased. Specifically, if the authority focuses on public transit, people can enjoy high-quality service. For instance, countries like China or Japan have superior electric trains, which are convenient for citizen’s travel. However, there are several drawbacks to this solution. First of all, people still have to pay a huge amount of taxes. In fact, there are already other taxes for citizens to pay, so further taxes would mean less money to use. Moreover, public transport is not as fast as driving; thus, when people are in a hurry or in some emergency cases, they will probably choose to drive a car, even with the high tax. For example, in America, although the facilities there use the latest technology, a large number of people still drive cars to travel because it takes less time. In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages to this method so governments should spend times researching more about this policy.