Reading for pleasure can develop imagination and language skills better than watching TV. To what extent you agree or disagree?

The question of whether reading can better cultivate imagination and language skills than watching TV has sparked heated debate. Some claim that books can better foster these abilities, whereas others argue that new platforms can also be beneficial. From my viewpoint, I tend to believe that a reader generally develops these techniques more comprehensively. In the essay, I will elucidate my reasons in more detail and offer my personal opinions. First and foremost, it is evident that when people read, they need to process the information through texts and their imagination; instead, individuals who watch television are directly input by video with the same images. For instance, when the movie Harry Potter had not yet been published, everyone had distinguished images regarding characters in the novel by imagining in their brain. Therefore, research has demonstrated that reading can actually strengthen creativity and cognitive ability. On the other hand, obviously, watching news and dramas can be a significant method to enhance listening and speaking. For example, in my own experience, through American TV series, such as Friends and the Walking Dead, I learned to adapt the speaking speed of English, and ultimately my speaking gradually improved. In conclusion, both ways can be positive to promote language skills in one way or another. Nevertheless, reading provides a crucial element in developing imagination. As a result, I firmly advocate that reading is a better method.