Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment, such as course work and projects, is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a view that formal examinations are the best method to use in order to appropriately evaluate students’ performances since continuous assessments, such as projects and coursework, are not effective enough. I partly agree with this statement because formal exams can often be better in terms of determining the appropriate score for a student but can also be too stressful which at times impacts the performance of a candidate. Also, some types of continuous assessment do teach specific skills. Mostly, formal exams, such as written tests, are the most suitable way to assess the student’s performance. During such tests, candidates are given similar conditions, and it is difficult to cheat because of the invigilator’s presence. For instance, IELTS exams are an effective method to demonstrate non-native speakers’ English level since tests take place in a specific venue under strict policies. However, it is also true that such exams can be too stressful for certain candidates who find it difficult to perform well under pressure. Nevertheless, such exams seem to be fair most of the time. Frequently, continuous assessment can be ineffective because such a style of academic assessment can be easy to cheat on or easier to prepare for. To be specific, coursework, such as a written assignment, can be submitted with the help of AI tools such as ChatGPT, which means universities are not evaluating the student but the software instead. As for preparation, course works and different projects often have a certain deadline that is easier to beat, which is why numerous students only start preparing a few days or even hours before the deadline. However, it must also be noted that a few methods of continual assessment may be beneficial for students’ development. One example is a presentation that may assist a candidate in terms of improving communication skills, which could be critical for prospective lawyers and businesspeople. In conclusion, I do agree that formal examinations can be more effective, but they are not always the best choice. The suggested examples show when alternative ways to assess students can be better.