Some people believe that zoos where animals are kept in man-made environment should no longer exist in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

These days a large number of animal species are being kept in zoos of different countries. Hence, it is argued that animals belong to their natural habitat, rather than size-limited spaces created by humans. I truly agree with this statement, and this essay will explain why. First and foremost, even though zoos help children learn about animals and their lifestyles, it is still not ethical to keep animals away from their natural habitat. This simply means that keeping animals in cages is not worth entertainment and educational experiences, as they suffer in this closed environment. Take Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk Zoo, for example, where bears can hardly survive, as they face hunger and boredom. Additionally, artificial environments cannot imitate real nature with a variety of spaces where animals can live and develop. Keeping animals in captivity does not allow them to participate in essential natural activities, such as migration and hunting. Hence, it is necessary to replace zoos with an environment that embraces freedom. For instance, Australia has a variety of natural sanctuaries and wildlife reserves which provide both independence and security to animal species. In conclusion, even though there are a few benefits to keeping animals in zoos, the drawbacks of this activity outweigh the advantages. Removal of these places, and replacing them with bigger natural spaces which include lakes, rivers, forests will not detrimentally affect animals, but instead support their lifestyles and habitats. Propose alternative methods of experiencing wildlife, such as wildlife sanctuaries and virtual reality experiences will offer a greater experience and knowledge for young people and adults.