Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not by local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract more local people to these museums?

In terms of visitors' attendance, it is often seen that cultural heritage hotspots attract a multitude of tourists instead of local inhabitants. Although there is a whole host of reasons leading to this, some feasible solutions can be adopted to address this. The low number of local people visiting museums and historical sites may be contributed by a variety of factors. Firstly, people living in the neighborhood are often familiar with their culture and history. Therefore, they tend to devote their leisure time to exploring the unknown or unseen outside of their hometown or country. This is because human are more interested in learning other traditional customs, rather than their own. Moreover, since the museums and historical houses are likely to remain unchanged through centuries, they can be visually unattractive to the local inhabitants, who may have been to these sites for at least once in their early years. However, a range of measures can be considered to solve this issue. The first step is to arrange appealing exhibits or programs at these sites such as some didactic as well as recreational competitions should be held to arouse the locals' interest and curiosity. Another resolution can be taken is for the authority to encourage and fund annual trips for local school children to such places. In conclusion, attracting residents to visit historical areas and museums in their area may be a challenging process. To better this, there should be a number of ways that can be taken to tackle this problem.