In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

Nowadays, the high rate of unemployed qualified graduates is a worldwide pressing issue. This essay is going to present the reasons for this scenario and the measures that could be addressed to increase employment levels among this group. To begin with, during periods of economic crises, companies reduce their workforce, aiming at cost-cutting. Since experienced professionals usually have higher salaries, they are the first option in a layoff process. To reverse this situation, federal governments could adopt a tax exemption to strategic and workforce-demanding sectors, which could reduce the crisis impact on companies' cash flow. For instance, the Brazilian Government has been adopting, since 2003, tax exemption for IT and construction companies, which has led to a higher employment rate in their sector. Additionally, employers tend to replace qualified employees with trainees or young professionals, also to reduce operational costs. This is because the latter's salaries are half or even less than the former's. As a solution, firms could implement seasoned professional acknowledgement programs, to maintain these professionals and, as a consequence, the quality of their workers. To illustrate, the Brazilian oil and gas company, Petrobras, established a technical consultant career for experienced employees, to retain them, despite the increasing number of opportunities in the oil and gas production chain in Brazil. To sum up, it is undeniable that the growing number of unemployees among qualified graduates is a relevant issue in many countries, mainly due to the current economic crisis, which is reflected in a reduction in job positions. To avoid it, I propose the adoption of governmental policies of tax exemption and private human resources practices that value experienced workers, both to sustain these professionals in their actual job positions.