In many countries, young people are choosing to go to universities abroad rather than studying locally. Is this a positive or a negative development.

In today’s world, young learners prefer to pursue their higher education in foreign universities rather than in their own lands. While it has certain drawbacks, I would argue that it is a positive development as job security and high living standards are the best opportunities for a person’s life. To begin with, leaving their motherland to study will cause homesickness in youngsters. To elaborate, young people will have to move to a new place, where no familiar person is there, and they have to live there all alone. Therefore, their mental health might be affected because they have to struggle with a new environment and the loss of their neighbourhood. For example, although one of my relations travelled to the UK for his further education last year, he was unable to keep moving his studies due to depression caused by the loss of family relationships. However, studying abroad will help to experience not only job security but also a high standard of living. If someone fulfils his/her higher study and achieves a grade score overseas, he/ she might have vast opportunities in numerous career aspects, would experience living in better amenities and have a quality life. For instance, in Sri Lanka, most youngsters are unable to get their desired career and have to wait for a longer time for that. That means they are at risk of spending quality lives in the local country. So, it is a better option to continue their learning in a foreign country. In conclusion, even though selecting a foreign university for learning has drawbacks, certain merits such as professional security and having a quality life will be considered as a positive development.