Although more and more people read the news on the Internet, newspaper will remain the most important source of news for the majority of people. Do you agree or disagree with that statement?

Recent years have witnessed an increase in the number of people reading online news on the Internet. However, it is argued that traditional newspapers are still important to the ways humans approach the news. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I believe that this idea is rather less convincing as the Internet has become increasingly dominant due to the benefits it offers. On the one hand, newspapers could be beneficial to some individuals because of several driving factors. Firstly, the cost of buying a newspaper is quite cheap compared to buying a smartphone with a network connection to read information online. For example, in Vietnam, a newspaper sells for 0.5 dollars such as The Police, The Young, and The Sport, many times lower than the cost of a local breakfast. Therefore, it is easily accepted as something every day. Secondly, it is perfectly suitable for middle age or older. For instance, we can easily have our elderly neighbours read printed magazines on their porches, drink a cup of coffee, and chat with each other. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that paper magazines will be less important in modern life. First and foremost, it is very easy to access a huge amount of information from all over the world, with just a mobile device or a laptop. This amount of news is simply free, and updated continuously, instead of having to wait at least a day like traditional ones. Furthermore, the smartphone market is very diverse, with prices suitable for everyone and increasingly easy to use. According to a statistic in The Young publisher, more and more people own smartphones, from young to old, and this percentage is growing by an average of 5% per year in individuals 30 years aged and 10% per year in over 60 years old. Consequently, more and more people are changing with the flow of time, including their behaviour towards state-of-the-art technology. In conclusion, although it is irrefutable that newspapers are of certain importance to some age groups, I would contend that they would hardly continue to be the most crucial source of information because more and more individuals will be drawn to the Internet.