15.Details of politicians’ private lives should not be published in newspapers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that newspapers should not report information of politicians’ personal lives. In this essay, I will explain why I agree with this view to some extent. I concede that there might be some reasons why some argue that politicians’ private lives should be unveiled by the media and perhaps the most obvious one is this can prevent them from setting bad models for the public. If politicians know that they are being watched by the press, they may well be conscious about their personal life, and this makes them aware of the importance of being upright and is potentially incredibly vital. For example, in the US, the media has the freedom to report anything they would like to, resulting in politicians performing well even in their private time, and this invariably leads to them becoming role models. However, I disagree with this suggestion because if politicians’ privacy is infringed by the press, it would affect their mental health or even lead them to depression. When politicians’ private life is reported to the public, they cannot enjoy their free time with their families and friends, in turn leading them to isolation and alienation. What this does is make it extremely detrimental. My uncle Tom, for instance, works as a politician in China, has been placed stress by journalists’ monitors for many years. As such, his mental health was hurt and has become depressed at a certain level, which is potentially why the erosion of politicians’ privacy will lead to their mental illnesses. In conclusion, while there are a few benefits of reporting politicians’ private information, I do not agree that this should be published by the media to some extent.