To what extent do you agree with this statement: 'Social media has had a negative impact on society

No doubt that social media revolutionized the whole world. However, we cannot deny the fact that with good there comes the bad as well. I strongly agree with the statement and I have ample points to prove my stand. To begin with, nowadays everyone is on this platform and they use it for various purposes. For example, a lot of people like to post their pictures or videos online, while they expect some friendly comments from their followers, most often they end up getting rude or violent comments from other folks, which impact them not only on a personal level but also on a social level as well. Moreover, the rise in online bullying doubled in the last few years and the numbers are worrying. In addition, people of all different ages are using social media now. Most of the time teenagers lie about their age to use it without knowing the consequences of it. Moving further, most of the time young people end up getting in trouble as they come in contact with online predators who use social media to lure the vulnerable. For instance, A survey conducted by BBC showed that around 3000 teens went missing in the US alone. Not only that, they consume a lot of negative content as well which usually includes explicit content and violent videos examples of a few. To conclude, there is nothing wrong with using a platform that helps us to connect with our family and friends. However, it totally depends on an individual how they want to use this magic tool.