Nowadays, most children prefer to spend several hours playing with electronic devices over doing more traditional leisure activities. What problem does this cause? What do you think are possible solutions?

Nowadays, most children prefer to spend several hours playing with electronic devices rather than engaging in more traditional leisure activities. This essay will first suggest that the biggest problems caused by this phenomenon are long-term health effects and isolation and then argue that parental involvement and active activities are the most viable solutions. Spending long hours with electronic devices causes multiple problems, the effects of which are very obvious. For instance, if kids become obsessed with their devices, such as mobile phones or computer games, this can promote a sedentary lifestyle that includes less physical activity and consumption of more junk food, ultimately leading to obesity in the long term. Not only do these consequences occur, but it also result in in-person social disconnect. For example, in the past, children used to engage with their peers by playing traditional recreational activities such as sports, painting, and role-playing. When compared to the present day, they are more likely to replace those activities with spending more time in cyberspace. Thus, this circumstance may have significant effects on children directly in various aspects. However, the menace of this issue can be combated. Parental involvement is the primary way to tackle this problem. If parents set a time limit on online access for their children and encourage traditional activities in between, such as cooking, reading books, playing sports, and exercising, this will minimize the risk of screen addiction and enhance the value of their time. Additionally, peer interaction should be encouraged so that children spend more time with each other by playing sports or engaging in their preferred activities, which can also improve their physical and mental health. Therefore, these pieces of advice are crucial and should be implemented. In conclusion, spending excessive time on electronic devices is a serious issue because it has harmful effects on children's health and leads to isolation. Nevertheless, the best approaches to deal with it are to establish parental rules to reduce these habits and integrate off-screen active activities.