Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A debate whether the money should be spent on repairing the old buildings or should demolish the old ones and build new modern buildings has been a subject of discussion. Overall, it can be seen that the expense of repairing old buildings is very high therefore some people prefer constructing new modern buildings instead of repairing old ones. On the other hand, there are also some people who have the ideology that the old buildings should be repaired. To begin with, repairing old buildings may have some benefits but it has a lot of disadvantages too. The world is changing now and technologies are in place. Old buildings are neither economically friendly nor technology-friendly. For instance, old buildings have old technology which creates a lot of problems. There may be security issues, the design of the building may not be as useful as it should be, and the systems in old buildings may not be computerized. Furthermore, safety issues in old buildings are at their peak. Old buildings can not resist a heavy flood or any other disaster. But the new technology allows us to construct buildings which can strongly resist disasters. For example, nowadays, buildings are some sort of elastic due to which they can easily face a flood or tsunami. In conclusion, in the era of inflation and the modern world, no one wants to spend their money on a useless or less efficient projects that remain unsafe. Therefore, repairing old buildings may not be a good idea if someone wants to get such features as safety and modern building.