In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. What problems is this causing? What measures could be taken to counter this situation?

For the last few decades, many traditional events and activities have become neglected and irrelevant. This tendency is strongly connected to the lack of intercultural understanding and respect for other nations. This essay will explore the reason for this trend and discuss some possible solutions. There are some possible issues that correlate to the abandoning of cultural festivals and heritage events. The main problem is the ignorance of own and other people's history because there are broad variety of modern occasions which are encouraged to celebrate. For example, in Australia, one of the most famous events is the Australian Football League lasting for approximately 6 months. During this time, most of the Australians focus on watching the game and embracing their favourite team. Accordingly, as many groups of society invest lots of their time and energy in these kinds of events, it becomes challenging for old traditions and activities to stay alive. The potential solution for the weakening of traditional culture is for both government and individuals to actively promote and encourage traditional celebrations. Government can take action to make a great difference. For instance, the authorities can fund organisations that aim to promote heritage festivals by providing local events and reaching out to older members of the community. Likewise, younger people can attempt to engage more with their roots and develop their intercultural understanding by exploring the sources of their culture. Moreover, if the traditional festivals start being advertised on social media, it will bring a wider audience and greater attention. In conclusion, the loss of heritage events is a problem of today's modern society and has a negative impact on the cultural identity of various groups. Accordingly, this issue must be tackled by locals having their own initiative and government promotions.