Financial education should be mandatory component of the school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Financial management plays a pivotal role in the survival of human beings. It helps us to observe our spending patterns, whether we have overspent on our budget or have saved during a specific month. I believe that financial education should be embedded in the school's learning curriculum, but I don't think making it mandatory will necessarily be effective in engaging students ' interest in the subject. Things like finance and money play a significant role in our daily lives, whether it's buying a coffee or receiving salaries from working. It serves as a backbone to our economies and global trade. There has been research conducted on young adults under the age of 25 that gambles are more likely to result in bankruptcy caused of their gambling addiction. This is caused by excessive borrowing of money from financial institutions and loan sharks, without understanding the severe consequences if the contract's requirements are not fulfilled. On the other hand, by making financial subjects compulsory. It may not attract all kinds of students who pursue various streams ranging from arts and humanities to science. Forcing pupils to take up mandatory courses that are not within their interest, will have detrimental effects as students are more likely not to make efforts in these courses which can reflect badly in their examinations. To combat this issue, academic institutions should incorporate financial education into their curriculum as electives, which are optional subjects students who are interested can take or those who would like to diversify their knowledge in other fields. In conclusion, while I think schools should incorporate financial subjects in their curriculum, they should not forcefully impose it on students, but rather create it as an elective or optional subject students can take. As the youths are the pillar of society, academic institutions should play an active role in spreading awareness of basic financial management to avoid developing bad habits that might ruin their lives.